Random Record Review – Blake Miller, “Burn Tape”

burntapecover

-

Blake Miller

Burn Tape

Exit Stencil (2009)

-

I’m sort of surprised I liked this as much as I did.  It sure as hell isn’t a sibling project to Mouthpiece or Refused, that’s for sure.

Burn Tape, the new full-length from Blake Miller, got surreptitiously emailed to me and I almost just automatically deleted it thinking it’s spam by accident, since that’s how I roll. But I’m glad I took a second look at the email.  A quiet but broad-spanning pop record, Burn Tape manages to walk that fine line between understated and just limp, something that not all projects in the vein of acoustic/folk/pop/country manage to do.  There’s a nice energy to this.  While it’s not something I’d listen to on a regular basis, it was definitely a great break in my normal barrage of punk, hardcore, and metal.

About Costa

Writer. Cartoonist. Coffee drinker.
This entry was posted in blake miller, blogging, indie, random, record review, reviews, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

