End Of Year Lists Are For Posers

I should know, I’ve done enough of them.

However, I decided against doing any this year.  However, it has been a pretty decent year in music, TV, comics, stuff like that, so I figured I’d do some sort of really rough and patently unprofessional roundup.

-

Zombieland is sort of fucking amazing.  Like, it’s sort of one of the best movies I’ve ever seen.  Adventureland was really great too, despite the inclusion of Kristen Stewart.  The Hangover was fucking hilarious and I’m pretty sure I came close to peeing my pants when I saw that. 

Anvil: The Story of Anvil though is probably the best movie I saw this year.  My girlfriend saw it at a press screening and came home declaring its awesomeness so loud I couldn’t help but catch the Anvil fever.  It is one of the best music films I’ve ever seen, and brought me close to tears.  The Men Who Stare At Goats was, despite what critics said, really funny, and Up sort of might have made me cry a bit.

-

Comic-wise, 2009 was the year of Jesus Hates Zombies ’round these parts.  Combined with a lot of old stuff and finally getting around to 100 Bullets (which concluded this year) made this the year of comics for me.  I seriously read so many comic books this year it almost isn’t funny.  North 40, Luna Park, the latest Scott Pilgrim and DMZ and Detective Comics…holy shit I’m getting a headache just thinking about it.

-

I got into “Dexter” this year, and let me tell you, season 4 of Showtime’s serial killer-with-a-heart series has been seriously fucking with my head.  Every episode so far of this season has been like a kick to the crotch, with surprise after surprise after surprise.  John Lithgow’s been amazing as the Trinity Killer, managing to make me incredibly scared and uncomfortable.  On the same Showtime boat, “Nurse Jackie” was a pleasant surprise that I’m looking forward to seeing again when its new season starts up.

I really liked “House” when the new season started, but I have to admit to dropping out of that when I started going to the gym.  Also, I didn’t really think I’d like it, but “The League” is surprisingly funny (John Lajoie being an added bonus).  I never thought I’d care about football, but I like this.  And of course, I’m in the minority in liking the revision of “The Prisoner” that AMC did.

-

Music-wise, I actually discovered a lot of really good bands this year like Transit and Castevet, and bands like Young Hearts, Title Fight, Into It. Over It., Young Hearts, and Paint It Black (among others) put out some amazing records.  I’ve been pleasantly surprised because honestly, I’m sort of bitter and cynical about a lot of music.  Most of my favorite bands have already broken up, though one of them (Small Brown Bike) are back.

One of the really big things music-wise that I loved this year was seeing the reunited Get Up Kids play on Halloween night.  They were one of those bands that I never thought I’d ever get to see live, but lo and behold, there they were, kicking ass at Irving Plaza.  It was amazing.

-

So yeah, there you go.  More or less everything I really loved these past 365 days, the year of our Lord 2009.  Now here’s hoping that our Satanic demon overlord Malebolge manages to manifest by Christmas and grant me my fondest wish of power over the minds of the serpents.

About Costa

Writer. Cartoonist. Coffee drinker.
This entry was posted in bands, beer, best friends, blogging, books, coffee, comic books, film, independant media, music, punk, random, shows, tv, writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

