Scotty read all of the books that I recommended…

Ellen Page on people seeing Juno as a pro-life movie, c/o the Washington Post;

ph2008021500824.jpg

Not in the slightest, and if you knew me and if you knew the writer and the director, no one would ever say that. It happens to be a film about a girl who has a baby and gives it to a yuppie couple. That’s what the movie’s about. Like, I’m really sorry to everyone that she doesn’t have an abortion, but that’s not what the film is about. She goes to an abortion clinic and she completely examines all the opportunities and all the choices allowed her and that’s obviously the most crucial thing. It’s as simple as that.

I call myself a feminist when people ask me if I am, and of course I am ’cause it’s about equality, so I hope everyone is. You know you’re working in a patriarchal society when the word feminist has a weird connotation. “Hippie” has a weird connotation. “Liberal” has a weird connotation.

A-fucking-men.

I really really loved this movie. Not as much as some people I know, but I still think it’s a brilliantly written film that’s smart, funny, fairly realistic, not condescending, funny and serious in all the right places, and generally the kind of movie I could watch mutliple times just to feel really good at the end.

I know that abortion is a very polarizing and political topic. HOWEVER, people making political mountains out of dorky funny movie molehills is stupid. It’s something a bad critic would focus on if they can’t think of ANYTHING else to say about a work, or want to appeal to a certain mindset (the anti-Juno backlash in general is also really fucking annoying) they know will read and agree with them.

Also, Jim DeRogatis is still a teabagging motherfucker.

About Costa

Writer. College professor.
This entry was posted in abortion, blogging, feminist, film, Juno, leftist, pro-choice, random. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

