Livin’ off high fives & stage dives

Here’s the “press release”, for lack of a better word;

Hey Everyone,

The Worst is finally done! You can visit my profile to get more information about it.

To order a copy of Issue 1: Please send $5 per copy (or $3 plus $2 in stamps) to: Kathleen McIntyre 30-42 30th St. Apt. 3R Astoria, NY 11102

Please include your return address any how many copies you want to order.

If you don’t have 5 bucks, send me a trade instead, or just write me a nice letter!

Thanks to everyone who helped with getting the word out, friends who gave me emotional support when it was tough to stay engaged, and everyone who helped print covers, fold, and staple the finished product! I am so excited to finally share it with everyone and see where it takes us from here.

<3,
Kathleen

Pretty sweet, right?

I said it before, but I’ll say it again, I thought it was a fantastic project to take part in, and oddly enough the circumstances regarding me finding out about it were almost too crazy to pass up. While writing the short story that eventually ended up in The Worst, I randomly came across the ad calling for submissions in a copy of either Punk Planet or Razorcake, I don’t remember. The fact that Kathleen’s from NY as well and that she was looking for the type of writing that I was doing at the time, which I’d just started as a sort of personal test, was insane. I couldn’t believe it, I had to write to this person and find out if she’d want my story.

Since then, I’ve felt pretty strongly about this project, because it’s a truly unique idea and for her to take it on is just awesome. The resulting public reading at Bluestockings in Manhattan last year was actually the first time I’d ever read like that, and opened up the path for my second one, a somewhat less serious but still rad reading with Cassie J, and hopes and dreams of my own to perhaps throw my own hat into the ring. Who knows.

Oh yeah, and if you get a chance, check out Weekend Nachos from Chicago. If nothing else, just because a name like that is too awesome for words.

About Costa

Writer. College professor.
This entry was posted in best friends, blogging, nyc, punk, random, The Worst, Uncategorized, zines. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

