Bring on the zines, we’ll dissemble the scenes

So a couple of months ago I got a fat package in the mail with a ton of zines to review, along with a couple of books. Since I’m lazy and stupid and would rather read stuff I find interesting and listen to music and watch TV and do schoolwork instead, I never did. I think I read a few of them but just never got around to it. To be honest, most of them don’t really look that good.

Anyway, I was cleaning up a few days ago and found most of them. I threw two out (one was an issue of Maximum Rock ‘N Roll because that magazine sucks dick and the other was some new-age shit) and decided I’d do something with the rest. Which is how we got here, with a pile of paper on my desk at work and me with a bit of time to kill.

“Lazy Boy”. Yeah, that’s a penis on the front. It’s mostly about sorta funny gay stories…OK stuff I guess. I recently noticed the penis on the cover is uncircumcised though, and to be honest I can’t get behind that. Sorry bro.

“The Anteater’s Dream.” Not bad, well-rounded and a decent mix of music, stories, essays, funny lists. Actually well-put together, I’ll probably actually read it more carefully in the near future.

I don’t even know what the fuck the title of this one is, I can’t read it. In fact, this one might have a fate with the shredder later on. I hate one-page zines, sorry. Don’t be a cheap fucking bastard when it comes to paper if you wanna do a zine.

“Proclamation Indignation”. This one came with a book by some guy who I think calls himself Eli Indignant. It’s an OK book, sort of boring and preachy to be honest. I didn’t finish it. It’d be better without the “I’m anti-consumerist” radical bullshit. The zine is mostly just that crap sans story. Good times.

“The Juniper”. Issue 9. I’m not a farmer, and thus, DO NOT CARE. Sorry, off-the-land types. I like my MSG thick and my delivery on-time thanks to dudes on bikes. The closest I’ve ever come to farming is growing tomatoes in the backyard.

“The Black Cloud: Clips From A Doomed Journalism Career #1”. Not bad, I liked this one, especially the story about getting shit-faced at the Halloween party dressed up as Hulk Hogan and Jem.

“The Night Owl”. I’m a night owl, and WHAT THE FUCK DID I JUST SAY ABOUT ONE-SHEET ZINES?! Seriously guys.

“Blues: Lust For Lists #7”. It’s lists. And the cover is made of cardboard.

“Love In The Time Of Scabies, number seven”. There’s a cool comic in here called THE NON-ADVENTURES OF TRENCHCOAT & KIM that I like, plus an interview with Cristy C. Road that’s terribly printed in a shitty attempt to look punk rock or something stupid like that.

So yeah…wow that was long.


About Costa

Writer. College professor.
This entry was posted in blogging, Cristy C. Road, DIY, independant media, random, zines. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

