Leftovers? I FUCKING LOVE LEFTOVERS!

So these were supposed to be in Razorcake or on their website I think but never happened, at least not now online or in any of the more recent issues.  I did them a few months ago and since they’ve been sitting on my computer for a while, figured I’d put them up here.  They’re book reviews.  Enjoy!

Do-It-Yourself Screenprinting
By John Issacson, 160 pgs.
Reflecting on this compilation of issues of John’s “Do It Together Screenprinting” comic zine, I gotta admit something. It gave me a bit of a headache. But only because I’m not really a disciple of screenprinting and the pages of (what seemed to me) pretty technical stuff, which I partially thought was what made this such a specialty-style book were hard to follow at times. However, as something that’s focusing on independent printing, something that I’ve sort of always held in a bit of awe since I suck at doing anything productive with my hands, it’s a good read. The occasional flashes of real-life humor from Isaac’s forays into selling his stuff on the street like a hippie, and then the adventures and learning experience of working in an actual printing shop are the best I think. I admire a man who isn’t ashamed to draw himself as he is, balding and all. The interviews with various independent presses and screenprinting artists, occasionally breaking up the comic, are great little insights into what comes across as a small but still flourishing industry…hmmm, I wonder how many punks I made cringe by using that term? – (Microcosm Publishing, PO Box 14332, Portland, OR 97293)

The Constant Rider Omnibus
By Kate Lopresti, 125 pgs.

I don’t own a car. Living in New York, I only got a license so I could have some form of photo ID, and occasionally drive to get groceries, rent movies, and go to the liquor store. My friend G-Unit told me once I live on buses and trains, which is why I fucking love Kate Lopresti so much right now. A combination of the first 7 issues of her “The Constant Rider” zine documenting the absurdities of riding the bus or the train to get places as opposed to driving like everyone else, this little piece of awesome is simple, smart, and funny. Her documentation and straightforward love of traveling via forms of non-car transportation like train, bike, and even airplane tugs at my heart and brain, reminding me of all the weirdoes and strange evenings I’ve had on the subways coming home from work. The fellow morning commuters who help her when she faints going to work one day, the 2 am drunks, single parents, and lonely hearts, they’re all there. I’m so adamant about how great this is, because I know what she’s talking about, I see the same people all the time, every day and night as I jet around the five boroughs for whatever reason. They’re both an intricate part of any city and at the same time, an almost separate sub-section of populace hidden inside buses and underground on train cars on tracks. Normally you don’t see them, just the outside, but here in the omnibus, you see them and learn to maybe even love them. At least me, ‘cause I’m one of them too. Everyone writes about the Kerouac-esque road trip and we as readers tend to look at it as some sort of big fucking deal. The Constant Rider Omnibus’s view is, however, that you can find a just as exciting world, if not more so, on the way to work in the morning on the Q28 to Main Street, the W train to 59th Street, or however you get to work every morning. It’s twice as fucked up sometimes, but also twice as life-altering, riding through life like that. And Kate’s writings encompass that perfectly. – (Microcosm Publishing, P.O. Box 14332 Portland, OR 97293)

About Costa

Writer. College professor.
This entry was posted in blogging, books, comic books, Microcosm Publishing, random, reviews, zines. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

