random record review – Lanterns, “Apocalypse Youth” EP

lanterns_apocalypseyouth1

Lanterns

Apocalypse Youth

Self-released, 2008

While not exactly original in terms of indie music, this was surprisingly awesome.  I’ll admit to not going into Lanterns with high expectations but was pleasantly surprised with how much I genuinely liked it, sitting there at desk listening to CD’s on my work computer, which isn’t exactly the ideal way to listen to CD’s.  So that does give you a sense of how much I liked it.  The Apocalypse Youth EP is just really good.  Uplifting and just straight energetic, with no pretensions and solid melodies, I can definitely see this geting multiple subway ride and late night listens.  I wouldn’t recommend it for someone like a Tragedy or Slayer fan, but just about everyone else should check them out.

About Costa

I'm a writer, teacher, baseball fan, old punk, and avid reader.
This entry was posted in blogging, indie, Lanterns, punk, random. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment