giving thanks and kicking ass

So I’m home from Ohio, spending Thanksgiving away from New York and with Tess’s family and friends and dog.  It was refreshing, I’ve never been to Ohio before and loved it.

I went to the Rock ‘N Roll Hall of Fame in Cleveland and saw the “punk” exhibit, saw the Ramones’ signatures and a bunch of obscure grunge and old blues and rock stuff.  It was really cool.  I didn’t give a shit about the bluegrass exhibit or the whole Elvis corner, but a guitar from someone in the Pagans was definitely cool.  There was even some Cramps stuff too.

I went to Kent State, Tess’s alma mater, and saw the memorial to the students who were killed there in 1970, walked where the protests and shooting took place, tracked mud from that field on my boots.  It was really cool and awe-aspiring and a little creepy and bone-chilling too.  Though that might have been the near-freezing temperatures and cold wind coming off the Great Lakes.

The only kicker?  My camera is being a bitch so I don’t know if I can get to my pictures, a few from Cleveland and a bunch from Kent State and around Ohio, including Mike Tyson’s old mansion near Cortland (I shit you not).  I’m really fucking pissed, I don’t wanna lose them.

Some comic and music reviews coming up.

About Costa

Writer. College professor.
This entry was posted in blogging, random. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

