blog for HER choice, 2009

Honestly, I don’t know what’s going to happen. I don’t even know if anything IS going to happen.  I have issues with unnecessary hero worship and I hate talking about politics because I just get mad, so I don’t want to be making assumptions about a new golden age, a new era where the metaphorical sword in the stone (not Excalibur, if you’ve read the original stories) has been drawn and blah blah yes we can blah blah…

All I know is that I love my girlfriend with all my heart, more than I can write. And that I love my mother, and my grandmother, my goddaughter, all of them. They’re the most important people in the world to me, and all I ever want for them is to be happy and free.

I look at my goddaughter and I see someone that has a bright future ahead of her.  I know a (god)parent is meant to say stuff like that, but I really mean it.  And I wipe the grit and cynicism from my eyes and for a little bit, I see some glimmer of hope and positivity in politics in the US.  Just a glint, but it’s there.  A glint that shines on a lot of stuff, stuff that includes reproductive and contraceptive rights.  The cynicism does come back after a second, but that’s just because I’m a bitter asshole who hates everyone.  Rightly so, because I mean, come on, everyone on the planet sucks and people who have no business sticking their fat and corrupt noses into it try to run fundamental rights into the ground to support their bloated and crippling beliefs and they’ll always be there in the shadows and on the fringes no matter what.

I can only hope that this year is the start of something where it will never get worse for her, and it can only get better.  For all the women in my life, for the one woman in my life who means the world to me and then some.  We’ve been promised a lot and to be honest, I’m gonna pop a few sucka’s if those promises aren’t kept.  Just so you know.

I can’t really think of anything else to say and write right now except that we are all human beings, deserving of the same rights and options, and that our bodies are ours to do with as we need to in order to maintain our health, not just physical but mental and emotional.  And we don’t deserve those rights, we are born with them.

Blog For Choice, 2009

About Costa

Writer. College professor.
This entry was posted in abortion, best friends, blog for choice, blogging, contraceptive/reproductive rights, feminist, random. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

