Random Record Review – Merit, “Arson Is For Lovers”

arson_cover

Merit

Arson Is For Lovers

self-releasd/Aux Management (2009)

Arson Is For Lovers, the full-length from Merit, is energetic and melodic, reminding me a bit of the punk/indie/pop mix that bands like Nakatomi Plaza are doing.  It’s a touch of artsy, a touch of down-n-dirty DIY, and a touch of honesty that makes this a pretty enjoyable record though it’s not something I immediately identify with and I get the feeling this is the type of record that takes a couple of listenings to fully get into.  While it’s not really something that’d end up in my top 10 of the years necessarily, I enjoyed it, a break of something different from my usual fare but at the same time, survived my ultimate musical crucible of being a morning commute to work soundtrack on the subway.  If I can enjoy an album on the train like that in the morning on coming home at night, then I know for sure that it’s got potential.  And Arson Is For Lovers definitely survived that ride.

About Costa

Writer. College professor.
This entry was posted in blogging, indie, merit, punk, random, record review, reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Random Record Review – Merit, “Arson Is For Lovers”

  1. Pingback: Pages tagged "record"

Leave a Reply

