Tune in drop out divide

4904-500I was listening to Ringing In The Dawn by Trial By Fire this morning.  It’s one of the really awesome gems of Jade Tree Records’ catalogue, and in my mind they totally could have been a major name in punk and hardcore.  It’s a shame that more people haven’t really heard about this band and this record, which was released in 2002.  They, as far as I know, didn’t really do much if anything after the release of this.  I randomly got a bunch of songs from Jade Tree’s website, one of them being a Trial By Fire tune, and I was instantly hooked.  Think Born Against, Minor Threat, the first Paint It Black record, and Strike Anywhere.  Vehemently insistent on spitting an ugly truth in your face, this is socially and politically conscious hardcore that had a sense of timelessness, something hard to do in my opinion.

I really don’t know what happened, I just know that they broke up, their drummer ended up in The Loved Ones, and I never heard anything from any of the other members again.  Which sort of sucks, because I really thought that this band could have been one of the “new wave” of DC hardcore and punk rock, post-Dischord.  I don’t listen to it often, but Ringing In The Dawn is one of those records that always revitalizes my love of music and independent DIY culture and music and community.

I don’t really have a point to this, just felt like writing about this record.  If you can get your hands on it, you should.

About Costa

Writer. College professor.
This entry was posted in blogging, hardcore, punk, random, Trial By Fire. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

