black-haired, sullen-eyed, sword in hand…

I used to read The Savage Sword of Conan when I was a kid, and I loved it.  Naked girls, giant swords, action, violence, all the stuff that I loved when I was 14.  Also, the title somehow managed to avoid the ire and reach of the Comics Code Authority, which made it way cooler   Anyway, the title was in black and white, which to me at the time was just so badass, and even to this day, looking at older issues of it, still strikes me as being incredible and so stark and defining, because the lack of color doesn’t draw anything away from it.

Anyway, Dark Horse has been doing some Conan titles for the past year or so, and to be honest I haven’t entirely been paying attention to them despite having grown up a Conan the Barbarian fan.  One of the titles that I read a lot, combing through the pullboxes of my uncles.  I don’t know why, I just tend to fall more towards the science fiction side of stuff these days, as opposed to fantasy, which was more my “thing” when I was younger.

I just read a preview from Conan The Cimmerian #10 of the Dark Horse run, and I have to say, the color doesn’t detract from the story as much as I thought it might.  In fact, it looks like it might be as awesome as the old Savage Sword books.  ‘Tis mightily cool.

About Costa

Writer. College professor.
This entry was posted in blogging, comic books, conan the barbarian, dark horse, random, the savage sword of conan, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

