What I’m reading these days

I know I always talk about comics and music and what I’m reading and listening to in those terms, but even though I’m a big regular book nerd, I don’t mention those that often.  So what the fuck, here you go;

N. Katherine Hailes’ How We Became Posthuman – I got this to help beef up my raw glut of posthumanist theory and theoretical know-how for my MA thesis, and also just out of sheer casual curiosity.  I know, it’s incredibly fucking dorky that I’d read a non-fiction book on abstract theory that combines computer science, philosophy, and science fiction, but whatever.  There’s some fascinating stuff in here about the definition of cyberpunk-based posthumanism, something that I’ve been working on a lot these days in various aspects.

The Constant Rider Omnibus – A compilation/anthology of a ‘zine about public transportation and traveling, I got it to review ages ago for “Razorcake”, never got to it, reviewed it for myself on here, and still re-read every so often.  It’s fun, it’s funny, it’s cool.  I think Microcosm Publishing still has copies to sell, you can check that out if you want, I don’t feel like finding a link right now.

MLA Handbook, 6th Edition – OK I’m not really reading this these days, I just have it out and have been using it a lot more these days, I was correcting something in something regarding the format for large-scale quotations in academia a few days ago.  But it’s up on the stack of stuff along with the regular books that I’m regularly reaching for these days, so I figured I’d throw it in.  One of the absolute must-have tools for academia and writing nerds like me.

How To Write Articles for Newspapers & Magazines – I know, I know.  But I’ve decided to make a concerted effort to improve my writing style and technique because I have very little formal “writing” education, despite the fact that I’ve been writing for ages.  Personally, I think having style guides and books like this around if you’re going to work as a writer is important, even if you’re a regular writer and publisher.  Because it never hurts to be able to double-check just how some things work, sound, and look.

So, there you go.  Pretty fucking dorky, right?

About Costa

Writer. College professor.
This entry was posted in blogging, books, independant media, journalism, n katherine hailes, random. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

