random comic – “The Unwritten” #1

1242270598_cvrI got this for a dollar at Forbidden Planet. Vertigo charges $1 for number 1’s of new series, a practice that I think is totally badass.  I haven’t bought floppies in a while but I’ve been hearing so much good stuff about this that I decided to get this and check it out.  What’d I have to lose?

Mike Carey’s story about the son of a famous author whose whole life has had him being used as a model for his father’s Harry Potter-esque books is interesting.  Stories and their “power” are a huge part of this title, something that you have sort of seen a bit before in Fables and Jack Of Fables, but on a different level in that “the truth about books and characters and fairy tales” way.  Also it’s a little more “real-life”, where it seems like a key part of the magic and mystery of the story will involve how it interacts with reality, a case of tackling the “art imitating life or life imitating art”.

Normally I read a lot of capes ‘n cowls, sci-fi, and indie stuff, so while I like Vertigo this wouldn’t normally be in my radar if I wasn’t such a whore and read CBR all the time.  But yeah, so I really like this and I can’t wait for next month to get #2.  The art’s sharp, the cover’s awesome, and some random man on the subway asked me about it and told me he was a fan of comics back when he was a kid, what it was about, and that he liked to see that others still read floppies.

About Costa

Writer. College professor.
This entry was posted in blogging, comic books, DC, random, random comic review, reviews, Vertigo. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

