Elementary

I turned 26 last week, and even though I’m normally not the kind to go out and celebrate much, it was really cool this year, I got sweet loot.  Tess blew my mind and satisfied my comic book/Brian Wood completist fanaticism (The Tourist from Image Comics) as well as my bizarre t-shirt nerditude, which shows just how awesome she is and how lucky I am to have her. Cheesecake, comic books, pizza, “Dog The Bounty Hunter”, and Blue Moon with the person you love most in the world cannot be beat for a celebration.  Trust me on this one.

The other big thing I got was from my parents, two huge volumes of the complete works of Sherlock Holmes.  I used to read a lot of those stories when I was a little kid, but haven’t in years.  The last time was a few years ago when I read an old compilation of Holmes stories that had been my dad’s when he was a kid, and even then I didn’t manage to get through the whole thing.  Still, getting a chance to re-read all those stories, it reminds me of just how awesome they are.  Also, I’d forgotten more stuff about these stories than I thought I had at first, because I’m all like “oh man I LOVE SHERLOCK HOLMES” and then I can’t remember that it was two sisters in my favorite Holmes short “The Adventure of the Speckled Band” and not a mother and daughter.

Anyway, speaking of nerdy comic book stuff, I won’t be at the MOCCA con this year buying books and pestering indie creators and scoring DIY floppies and shit while Tess rolls her eyes at me even though last year we met Bill Plympton there.  We’ll be in Ohio escaping the grind of New York’s screeching and smog, going to a wedding and visiting some folks and generally being able to relax for once.  So for all the people who end up here at Fistfight because they look up my MOCCA and NYCC reports, no new convention write-ups for a while, sorry.

And for those of you who come here looking for pictures of giant squid, thanks for boosting my page counts.  Punks.

About Costa

Writer. College professor.
This entry was posted in best friends, birthday, blogging, books, Brian Wood, comic books, giant squid, independant media, MoCCA, nyc, Ohio, random, Sherlock Holmes, the Tourist. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

