random comic – “The Doonesbury Chronicles”

Alongside Calvin & Hobbes, this is one of the first comics I eve really read regularly I think.  I spent my formative years as a kid dbryCOLLECTIONliving overseas and my parents would get the International Herald Tribune, which ran American newspaper strips.  I didn’t even really get a lot of the jokes at the time, it’s a very politically-aware comic and at 10 or 11, I obviously wasn’t all that in-tune with the Bush legacy or the Clinton administration or the US in Eastern Europe, so I really don’t know why I thought it was funny.  I think I was mostly just a Zonker and Uncle Duke fan.

I found this collection, which combines choice selections from 1970 to 1974, including some super-early strips introducing BD and Michael Doonesbury for the first time among others, at my house.  One of the things that I’ve loved about Doonesbury ever since I was aware enough to actually get the jokes was that while it’s not necessarily rolling-on-the-floor comedy, it’s managed to maintain being smart and funny and subtle without going overboard on what’s an unashamed but not irrational liberal bias on Trudeau’s part.

I just really consistantly love this series because of that, I think, an honestness about beliefs and humor.  It, in a way, reminds me of the non-political political-ness of Brian Wood’s DMZ, where in the end it’s all about people in the end.  And I like that, I like that a lot.  It still runs in papers and through online subscription, I get it every day via email myself.  I know it seems strange sometimes to think of newspaper comic strips as being similar if not totally the same to regular comic books.  But the medium is the same I think, it’s a form of storytelling, it just happens to be a little scaled down from what people normally think of as regular comics.

More people should care about comic strips.

About Costa

Writer. College professor.
This entry was posted in blogging, comic books, random, random comic review. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

