TASTY MOFO

hmprSuprmOmelet_baconAs a “native” New Yorker (and I use that in quotation marks because of my ever-increasing wanderlust to not necessarily keep New York my home base), I’m have a natural predisposition towards street food.  I can’t really help it, dirty water hot dogs and halal fill me up with joy on the inside. It’s some sort of genetic imperative, I guess.

A deli or street vendor bacon-egg-cheese on a roll (or a bagel!) is the best breakfast ever, hands down.  But when I discovered the deliciousness of Dunkin’ Donuts’ Supreme Omelette, their own take on this most sacred of breakfast combinations (thanks to my lovely girlfriend), I was truly and utterly torn.

Here I was, in a bastion of corporate food distribution, faced witha  soulless pre-made sweets and breakfast foods, and I held in my hands, about to chomp down on something so warm and delicious, so cheesy and bacon-y, I couldn’t help but start to sing the hymns of love for this incredible artifact I scarfed the fuck down in like, 4 minutes, with my cup of coffee.

I was on my way to work today and I wanted another cup of coffee.  I like DD coffee, I use it at home, I think it’s great stuff (I save my snobbery for beer and comics, not coffee), and while I was in there, had an off-the-cuff moment.  I wanted a supreme omelette on a plain bagel.

They’re discontinued, and haven’t been available actually for a little while.

I felt my heart shatter into a million medium-sized pieces.  Discontinued?  But, it’s so delicious!  How could they do that!  How could they hurt the supreme omelette like that?

Anyway, finding that out really bummed me out and put a dent in my morning.  Like I said, I know that the classic street food fare of the bacon-egg-cheese can’t be beat, especially from the street carts, but man…Dunkin’ Donuts cannot be beat and always finds a way to make a day better.

We salute you, Dunkin’ Donuts Supreme Omelette.  I’ll pour some of my 40 out on the curb for you tonight.

About Costa

Writer. College professor.
This entry was posted in blogging, dunkin donuts, food, random, street food, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

