all I wanna do is…

I hopped on a skateboard a few days ago for the first time in a couple of years, maybe 3 or 4 I think.  I got my old board, an Alien Workshop deck, from momma K’s basement because I’d been getting the itch again and figured it might be goodnoname exercise.  I wasn’t gonna be popping up to grind on a car hood or kickflip off the curb (which I could never do), but just ride for a while a few times a week at most, just cruise.

I have, at the bitter age of 26, lost every iota of balance that I used to have, completely. I was never very good on a board, even at my “peak”, but I could at least feel comfortable on it, just riding and rolling around.  I used to love skateboarding and took every chance I got to go, even at the risk of getting caught by the po-po a couple of times.

I made it less than three blocks at a leisurely pace down the street before realizing just how fucking bad I looked, and how uncomfortable I felt.  I could not believe how much I’ve lost and how embarrassed I felt walking back up the last block to my apartment.

Part of me realizes that a little practice would get me back to a semblance of a level of balance I used to have (at night when no one is around to watch me as I struggle to maintain my balance rolling down the street), but part of me also wonders if this is just a sign that I wasn’t meant to get back into it.

As much as I owe to punk rock and to literature, i also owe a lot to skateboarding as a kid, I met a lot of very cool people when I’d skate, I met a lot of people who didn’t judge me on my clothing, the fact that I was a skinny nerd, or the fact that I looked all doofy and shit (I actually ride doofy-footed), I was just another kid with a board who was willing to climb fences to get into schoolyards,  give a middle finger to a cop, and not do “regular” sports (mostly because I sucked at them).

I don’t know, I guess we’ll see what happens,  because I’ll probably be trying again.  When there aren’t people around in the streets.  Wish me luck.

About Costa

Writer. College professor.
This entry was posted in blogging, nyc, random, skateboarding, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to all I wanna do is…

  1. Dabe says:

    I think you should get back out there man. I’ve been skating for years and I used to think of giving up and just stopping every once and awhile because 1) I’m not a kid anymore and 2) I’m huge and awkward looking on a board. I’m glad I got passed all that because these days I hit the park every other day and cruise it and do the very small amount of tricks I have in my bag and there’s nothing that clears my head better.

Leave a Reply

