random comic review – “TMNT the Collected Book Volume 1”

TMNT “HEROES IN A HALF-SHELL, TURTLE POWER!”

Wait, I mean…uhm…OK, hold on.

Tom of the Around Comics and Tom VS The Flash podcasts mentioned this on Twitter, and when I was in Forbidden Planet recently I found this.

It’s epic.  It’s giant and contains, along with most of the early Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles stuff, a brief history of the series’ creation.

I have to admit something.  I have a lot of fond memories of the animated series of this franchise in the 90’s (who doesn’t?), as well as my exposure to the Archie Comics version of the comic tales.  I’ve seen all the movies (except the CGI 2007 one, “TMNT”) but I’ve never read any of the Mirage stuff before, until now.  Though having read it, now I can see stuff that was cherry-picked for the live-action first film (the first two anyway) and the animated series out of these original stories.

It’s incredible stuff, very much pulp/indie B&W which (and this is what I liked the best), has a visible evolution over time from the first issue.  It starts out strong, and ends amazing.

It’s no Asterios Polyp (I’m sorry, was that a jab?).  This is action and grit to the core, not hi-art, but art and storytelling working together.  I mean, it’s just GOOD.  I could probably re-read this over and over again no problem, being not only blown away by this comic, but also by the memories I have of this franchise and it’s presence in my life.  Come to think of it, not only my life but also the lives of who knows how many readers in that 20’s and 30’s age range whose lives have been touched by that exposure to comic book fantasy.

It’s everything awesome about the late 80’s-90’s.  Martial arts, comic books, action, pulp, homage, and did I mention the ninjas and martial arts?

Oh, and just a warning, this book is huge.  Like, it’s really big so beware when you get it, it’ll take up a chunk of shelfspace.

About Costa

Writer. College professor.
This entry was posted in blogging, books, comic books, mirage, random, random comic review, reviews, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to random comic review – “TMNT the Collected Book Volume 1”

  1. Tom Stanley says:

    I was on Yahoo and found your blog. Read a few of your other posts. Good work. I am looking forward to reading more from you in the future.

    Tom Stanley

  2. VS Romero says:

    Just got my copy from Panel to Panel. It’s wicked amazing! I thought it’d be much bigger, but it’s big enough.
    Can’t wait to finish it! (As well as finishing The Complete Calvin and Hobbes.)

  3. Gyt Kaliba says:

    Can anyone please get back to me as to where I can get a copy? I tried looking at that Panel to Panel place VS Romero mentioned, but I can’t find it there at all.

    I DO know it’s on the official site, but I’m looking for a place that’ll let me pick it up with either a card or a check, not Paypal.

  4. VS Romero says:

    Yeah, it’s gone from there.

    But guess where you can find it? The Ninja Turtles website! (Go figure.)
    Just go to their site and on the right you’ll see a “2009 Trade Paperbacks,” or something like that. Click on that and it’ll take you to a PayPal link to order your copy for $35.
    Definitely well worth it!

  5. Gyt Kaliba says:

    Yeah, I noticed it there, but I was looking for a place that takes checks or cards. But I’ve had a friend tell me that Paypal is more secure than I’d thought, so I may just go there to avoid the headache.

    I did find it for card order on a place called GrahamCracker, that looks official enough, but I’m not sure.

    Thanks for the help.

  6. VS Romero says:

    If you know someone with PayPal, I’d use their account and pay them back. PayPal is definitely more secure, and now I don’t use any online store unless it’s linked with PayPal (besides Amazon.com).

    I know of Graham Cracker. They’re a huge chain here in Illinois.

    Good luck!

  7. Bill Bartmann says:

    Great site…keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

