random comic review – “Silent Dragon”

SilentDragonCv1I got Silent Dragon solely because of the creative team.  There, I said it.

I love Andy Diggle (The Losers) and Leinil Yu’s artwork (Secret Invasion, New Avengers) is always amazing.

A torn but loyal samurai retainer in a futuristic Tokyo is betrayed by his Yakuza masters, and he returns from the dead in a typically awesome sci-fi/cyberpunk way to wreak his vengeance against those who wronged him, including his apparent saviors.  It hasn’t been a letdown by any means, how could it?

It’s everything I’ve loved in comics and fiction ever since I was a kid.  There’s samurai swords, science fiction, action, battles, great writing, amazing and dynamic art, the whole kit and caboodle.

Honestly, I like this because I grew up on this sort of stuff, TMNT, ninja movies on lazy Saturday nights, Ghost In The Shell…it’s both really refreshing and oddly reminiscent in a good way.

But if you didn’t get into this stuff at all then and don’t really enjoy the slight cheese factor and major shallow-but-clean-fun aspect of this, you’re probably going to look at this book and automatically dismiss it.  Which is a shame really, but whatever, go read American Splendor or something, see if I give a shit.  I’m not ashamed to read all sorts of stuff.

Anyway, it’s six issues from Wildstorm in one trade, the story’s awesome, the art’s incredible, and I like it.  That alone should be enough to sway you, no?

About Costa

Writer. College professor.
This entry was posted in Andy Diggle, blogging, books, comic books, cyberpunk, leinil francis yu, ninjas, random, random comic review, reviews, samurai, science fiction, silent dragon, Uncategorized, Wildstorm. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to random comic review – “Silent Dragon”

  1. Juss says:

    “But if you didn’t get into this stuff at all then and don’t really enjoy the slight cheese factor and major shallow-but-clean-fun aspect of this, you’re probably going to look at this book and automatically dismiss it. Which is a shame really, but whatever, go read American Splendor or something, see if I give a shit. I’m not ashamed to read all sorts of stuff.”

    I like your attitude! Bravo! I’m about to order this myself. I bought issue #2 long ago, and have reread it several times and liked it, but never pursued getting the entire series. I wonder why. But now I’m getting the trade. I expect to enjoy it, also.

Leave a Reply

