Random Record Review – Nakatomi Plaza, “Ghosts”

Nakatomi Plaza

Ghosts

self-released (2009)

For the most part these days, I don’t listen to as much music as I used to, but when I do most of it is what’d probably be defined as “post-hardcore”.  It’s what I like and look for in music, a mix of raw energy with maturity and emotion and prowess that makes it a step above from the glut of stuff out there that get categorized as “punk” or “hardcore”.

Nakatomi Plaza have been together touring and recording for a while now, I’ve seen them live a few times and with Ghosts, their last record before the band bows out, they definitely manage to create that near-perfect record, a balance between technical prowess, dual and dueling vocals, and powerful emotion and energy.  And when you consider the sound that’s coming out of a three-piece, it’s pretty incredible.  I’ve listened to Ghosts a few times back-to-back since I got my hands on it, it’s amazing and a total pick-me-up sort of album that definitely gets my blood pumping, especially in the (very) sluggish mornings when the last thing I need is to be alert.

About Costa

Writer. College professor.
This entry was posted in blogging, hardcore, music, music reviews, nakatomi plaza, punk, random, record review, reviews, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

