Random Record Review(s) – The Get Up Kids, Who Goes There, Magnetic Flowers

20030982-7400

The Get Up Kids

Daytrotter Sessions

Daytrotter (2009)

Daytrotter’s a website that has sweet live recordings of all your favorite bands, including new songs never heard before.  In connection with their recent spat of reunion shows, one of my all-time favorite bands The Get Up Kids popped by and recording a new song, a cover, and a few fan favorites.

The recording’s great, the songs all sound amazing, how can this not rule?  If you’re obsessing over increasing your Get Up Kids collection then definitely check this out, and even if you’re not, this is a great way to be reminded just how much this band has stayed incredibly spot-on and fresh.  I listen to this regularly, them doing “I’m A Loner Dottie,…” always gets me going.

otheralbumcover

Who Goes There

Who Goes There

self-released (2009)

Spastic, anguished, angry, and almost angular without relying on heavy-metal tropes and stylistic tricks, Who Goes There are one of those bands that are, in my mind, bringing back all the great post-punk and emotional hardcore tropes from the late 80’s/early 90’s, managing to not rely on macho cliches when getting emotions across.

All in all, very cool.  The band include former members of Outclassed, and it shows in letting their influenced bleed through with songs that sound like a creeping punch to the chest.  And if you aren’t a fan of music that sounds like it’s gonna kick the shit out of you, well then I guess I can’t really help you.

albumcover

Magnetic Flowers

What We’re About

self-released (2009)

Honestly, with me being as picky with “indie” music as I am I wasn’t sure how I’d like this, but it’s surprisingly fresh and twisted.  From the really cool opening track all the way through, even though it didn’t blow my mind, I think I’m a Magnetic Flowers fan from now on.

There really isn’t much to say really, this is an interesting band that doesn’t seem afraid to experiment with different sounds while maintaining a good beat that won’t drive you into the sleep of utter boredom.  Check ’em out.

About Costa

Writer. College professor.
This entry was posted in Get Up Kids, magnetic flowers, music, music reviews, record review, reviews, Who Goes There. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

