On “JOE THE BARBARIAN”

A) Hey, a Grant Morrison book I’m actively excited for!

B) Thanks to Brian Wood for bringing this review to my attention of the new Grant Morrison/Sean Murphy comic Joe The Barbarian, from Vertigo.  I initually was a little bit interested in this because I’m a fan of Murphy’s work ever since stumbling across him on DeviantArt, because normally, I’m not really a huge Grant “I’M A GODDAMN FUCKING LSD MAGICIAN” Morrison fan.

Now after reading that “review” (and I use that term loosely…Jesus shit, CBR, way to go letting something like that hit the Web loosely associated w/your name) I’m definitely excited for eventually reading it.  Because all the things that the reviewer is talking about in terms of pacing and layout are what I think makes great comics, especially in a book that takes place in the realm of imagination and its overlay with reality.

Being a fan of of Bill Watterson and Scott McCloud and the general art of combination art/word literature (comics), you can’t just fill every panel and every page with action and dialogue.  I mean, I don’t think you can, because to me, pacing is just as important.

Whatever…I just thought it was a hilarious “review” not to mention ill-written.  Also, I wanted to mention it on any context because Sean Murphy is an amazing artist and and more of you should be aware of him.

About Costa

Writer. College professor.
This entry was posted in blogging, books, comic book criticism, comic books, DC, Grant Morrison, Joe The Barbarian, random, Sean Murphy, Vertigo. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

