“It was justified.”

So I watched the series premier of FX’s “Justified” last night, starring Timothy Olyphant.

I’m impressed.  I sort of casually knew who Olyphant was through (don’t laugh) the Hitman movie, but I’m a late bloomer to the Elmore Leonard bandwagon so when I heard the author’s name attached to this, I jumped on.

Also, the promotional work for this show, which built up as a slow burn over the past few months, was stellar.

Anyway, so I’ve been excited for this for a while, and rushed home to eat dinner and sit down for this, which I was hoping wouldn’t let me down.

Boy, it didn’t.  The first episode of “Justified” is a great nu-Western style crime story where it’s not so much about a retelling of the Wild Wild West, but a low-key but brutal cop show with a hidden layer under there.  Granted, that sort of twist isn’t exactly a new concept in fiction, but whatever, I like it here.  I love how it’s shot and cast and the whole atmosphere of what is supposed to be Eastern Kentucky.

So yeah, FX Tuesdays are where it’s gonna be at for a little while.  I can’t wait to see what else “Justified” has coming up for its first season.

About Costa

Writer. College professor.
This entry was posted in blogging, fx, justified, random, tv. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

