random comic review(s) – “The Enforcers” #0 (Director’s Cut), “American Vampire #2

OK, I’m trying to think of a way to do this without sounding like a terrible person.  I really wanted to love this.  My appreciation of dumb 80’s and 90’s action movies and of course, being one of those guys who actually appreciate the late 80’s and 90’s in comics despite whatever everyone else says, all point towards me really liking this tale of an “elite” strike force tackling drug dealers in New York City.

That being said, The Enforcers from SJSC Comics feels like I just got a package via time travel from the early 90’s full of comic books.  I’m not entirely sure if this is a serious attempt, or a very clever stab at those type of comic books and the era in entertainment in general.  I mean, a covert-ops group drawing on both “the best of the best” & “the damaged loners” of conventional military and law enforcement, with flowing hair, spandex costumes, pouches…I really hate saying this, but I totally got flashbacks to issues of WildC.A.T.S., and X-Factor.  I just don’t quite know if it’s meant to be on purpose or not.

____

God damn it, Vertigo,  I am never going to be able to afford a Wii or a giant-screen TV to hang in my bathroom if you keep putting books out that I need to buy.  Once again, American Vampire brings the “HELL YEAH” in short but brutal spurts. The story of the new breed of vampire that is being told alongside the story of the growth of America as a new nation establishing itself in the world just continues to be awesome with one story by Scott Snyder and another by Stephen King, and of course, face-smackingly good art by Rafael Albuquerque.

I can’t say more than I’ve already said, and I also don’t want to spoil anything, so just take my advice and pick this up.

About Costa

Writer. College professor.
This entry was posted in american vampire, blogging, books, comic books, comics, DC, random, random comic review, reviews, sjsc comics, the enforcers, Vertigo. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

