Random Record Review – Social Standards, “Not So Fast” EP

Social Standards

Not So Fast EP

self-released (2910)

Remember Operation Ivy?

Of course you do, everyone remembers that band.  I bet you’ve probably got that one album of theirs that everyone from Authority Zero to the Suicide Machines have been inspired from. Social Standards sure were as well, but without just straight-up aping the punk/ska forefathers that a lot of other bands try to do, and honestly it’s really refreshing DIY romp through some amazing musicianship.

I hate to say this, but the instrumental songs on this EP are my favorites, I’ve had it on in the background as music while I’ve worked a bunch of times and it always gets me my foot tapping.  That’s not to say that I don’t enjoy the vocals either, but that opening song, “Driven Off A Ship”, is one of those songs that I definitely make allowances for in my “little-to-no-instrumentals” rule.

This band brings back a lot of great memories, and I’m excited that they’re out there doing their own thing.

About Costa

Writer. College professor.
This entry was posted in blogging, hardcore, music, music reviews, pop-punk, punk, random, record review, reviews, ska, social standards. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

