random comic review – “NOIR: A Collection of Crime Comics”

I never thought I’d be into noir.

And yet, here I am, with piles crime/noir comics and book slowly starting to grow alongside the crazy sci-fi and indie graphic novels on my bookshelves.  I can’t help it, I love a good mystery or a good heist.

Dark Horse’s collection here has some of my favorite comic book geniuses throwing their hats into the noir ring, either for the first or the hundredth time, and it’s awesome.  A little uneven here and there, as an anthology it’s perfect to sit down and read on a rainy afternoon.

The thing I love about this collection is that each piece is fairly distinct from the others, keeping it from becoming just a collection of detective stories set in the 50’s.  It’s got sprinklings of other genres in there, as well as great art from a variety of artists.

I’d definitely recommend picking this up, especially if like me you’re digging the Vertigo Crime series of hardcover mystery stories, or the groundbreaking series 100 Bullets.

About Costa

Writer. College professor.
This entry was posted in blogging, books, comic books, comics, dark horse, noir, random, random comic review, reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to random comic review – “NOIR: A Collection of Crime Comics”

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention random comic review – “NOIR: A Collection of Crime Comics” | FISTFIGHT AT THE ARTHOUSE -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

