Random Record Review – Maker, “I-91”

Maker

I-91

Either/Or Records (2010)

There’s something to be said for the 90’s.

I-91, a really good little EP from Massachusetts’ Maker, is straight-up 90’s.  A refreshing mix of snotty-voiced pop punk and East Coast melodic hardcore, there’s a lot of potential in here that I really want to hear more of.

I love bands that are reaching back and are influenced by that era, the time when I was getting into punk rock and hardcore and that is, at least in my mind, a little maligned when it comes to independent music.  Maker wear these influences a little too obviously on their sleeves, but with a little bit more time under their belts they could be amazing.  I’m stoked to hear more from them.

About Costa

Writer. College professor.
This entry was posted in blogging, hardcore, maker, music, music reviews, pop-punk, post-hardcore, punk, random, reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

