Random Record Review – Museum Mouth, “Tears In My Beer”

Museum Mouth

Tears In My Beer

self-released (2010)

Great shades of lo-fi, Batman!

Poppy female-fronted punk with a dash of danceability thrown in for good measure, Museum Mouth‘s full-length Tears In My Beer is surprisingly refreshing stuff.  Despite the pop-punk tag, it’s a bit of a departure from the sea of similar bands that’s out these days, leaning more towards the sloppy garage side of the musical spectrum as opposed to the bubblegum pop.  They remind me a bit of a less polished and more sarcastic Lemuria with shades of bands like Archers Of Loaf and Husker Du, which is a major plus in my book.

Sometimes you really do want less harmonies and “doot-doos”, and more toe-tapping and indie rock’n roll in your pop.  I know I do, which is why I’m definitely enjoying this record.

About Costa

Writer. College professor.
This entry was posted in blogging, indie, museum mouth, music, music reviews, pop-punk, punk, random, random record review, reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Random Record Review – Museum Mouth, “Tears In My Beer”

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Random Record Review – Museum Mouth, “Tears In My Beer” | FISTFIGHT AT THE ARTHOUSE -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

