Random Record Review – Hostage Calm, “S/T”

Hostage Calm

S/T

Run For Cover (2010)

I will say this, Hostage Calm‘s self-titled full-length is strikingly honest and ambitious.

And whereas a lot of “ambitious” records from bands can be really hit or miss, this is right there, reaching out and grasping at my arm, almost catching it.  It’s a little uneven to be honest, jumping from pop-punk to melodic post-hardcore to almost radio-ready rock, but that works to it’s experimental advantage at times.  At it’s peak, this album reminds me of a more melodic Bear Vs. Shark, who totally blew brains like a gun in my opinion.

There’s a lot of potential in Hostage Calm that I would definitely love to hear grow, I could definitely see them getting comfortable in their own unique sound and style and not jump around so much.  Overall I could see this record growing on me with repeat listenings and tacos.

About Costa

Writer. College professor.
This entry was posted in blogging, hostage calm, music, music reviews, punk, random, random record review, record review, reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

