random comic review – “The Green Woman”

Uhm…wow.

I don’t really know what just happened other than I just read The Green Woman, an original graphic novel from Vertigo by authors Peter Straub and Michael Easton, and artist John Bolton.  If I had to sum this up, it’s a little bit Hellblazer and a little bit “Se7en”, with a dash of classic noir PI in there too.  That’s a really shallow and quick description though, to be honest, because there is a lot more going on here.

Washed up cop Bob Steele is considered a joke by everyone, but he’s determined that he’s the one who’ll manage to finally catch a mysterious serial killer known as Fielding Bandolier (who’se actually a character of Straub’s from his prose novels).  Meanwhile, “Fee” is getting older and tired, and the two men are being drawn together in a final confrontation, with otherworldly hands pulling the strings.

OK, first off, Bolton’s art.  Amazing, almost-but-not-quite photorealistic paints and soft, almost nonexistent lines that make this whole thing a riot of blacks and color.  It’s a little muddled to be honest, though I can see it adding to the almost dream/nightmare-like quality of the setting, the story, the whole atmosphere.

I’m not familiar with Straub and Easton’s work, and I’m not going to lie; a good part of the book’s story was pretty confusing until a few things came together, and I’m not sure if it took that long (relatively speaking) for the two authors to get to that point because of a lack of familiarity with writing comics.

I mean it wasn’t bad at all.  It’s a great supernatural detective story with some beautiful art.  It just didn’t bowl me over, hit me in that gut sensation way that I feel when really awesome stuff affects me.  I will say, there were times when it creeped me the fuck out a bit, and I’m sitting on the couch reading it in broad daylight.

About Costa

Writer. College professor.
This entry was posted in blogging, books, comic books, comics, DC, random, random comic review, reviews, the green woman, Vertigo. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to random comic review – “The Green Woman”

  1. Ron says:

    A weird book and one I think I’ll have to re-read in several settings to really absorb all the nuances.

    I’ve never read any of Straub’s work but it had me thinking if some novelists struggle with comic books/graphic novels because there are somethings you can do in a book that you can’t in a comic book. Detective stories are hard enough without being a supernatural one in comics. Unless the visual language is Johnny-on-the-spot, the reader is kind of left to his own devices to figure it out with no reference or help at all.
    I enjoy Bolton’s work. It’s eerie and feels slow paced but I wonder if he really understood the story enough to flesh it out for the reader?

    Jus some random thoughts…

  2. Kerellane says:

    great blog , how are you doing now eeh?

Leave a Reply

