random comic review – “The Last Christmas”

I love Brian Posehn’s stand-up comedy, mostly because not only is he hilarious, but also because he talks about heavy metal and comic books and video games and has a beard.  So naturally when I heard that he’d help write a comic book from Image Comics, The Last Christmas, I tracked down a copy and finally got around to getting off my Amazon wishlist and into my grubby hands.

It’s insane.  I mean, like it’s literally combining those old stop-motion Christmas cartoons with “Mad Max” and various other action films, with healthy amounts of balls-out humor that makes fun of all the good things in life like suicide, or violence against small children.

In the ravaged post-apocalyptic world of the future, few human beings remain alive against hordes of Marauders and mutant zombies.  Their only hope?  Santa Claus, who after having some bad shit go down with him, mans up and gets armed to start beating back the hordes the only way he knows how;

With extreme prejudice.

And of course, some backup from a snowman and the trusty elves.  Don’t ask, or really quesiton it too much, just sit back and enjoy.

I don’t know if it’s in active circulation, but I managed to find it without too much difficulty online, and there’s still its website.  Even if you’re not a Posehn fan, if you love ridiculous comics that cater to the total action/gore hound inside every nerd, you need to get The Last Christmas.

About Costa

I'm a writer, teacher, baseball fan, old punk, and avid reader.
This entry was posted in blogging, books, Brian Posehn, comic books, hardcore, image comics, random, random comic review, reviews, the last christmas, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment